Robin Robertson

Under the gritted lid of winter, each
ice-puddle’s broken plate
cracked to a star. The morning
assembling itself into black and white, the slow dawn
its developing tray. Cold steams off the grass;
the frosted yarrow and sea holly
smoke in the new sun.

A Thousand Splendid Stuns
Two Poems