granta books

From Nobel laureates to debut novelists, international translations to investigative journalism, each themed issue of Granta turns the attention of the world’s best writers on to one aspect of the way we live now. Granta does not have a political or literary manifesto, but it does have a belief in the power and urgency of the story and its supreme ability to describe, illuminate and make real.

Granta magazine was founded in 1889 by students at Cambridge University as The Granta, a periodical of student politics, badinage and literary enterprise, named after the river that runs through the town. In this original incarnation it published the work of writers like A.A. Milne, Michael Frayn, Stevie Smith, Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath.

In 1979, Bill Buford transformed Granta from a student publication to the literary quarterly it remains today. Granta Books came ten years later, quickly becoming one of the most independent-minded and prestigious literary publishers in the UK.

Granta’s Best of Young issues, released decade by decade, introduce the most important voices of each generation – in Britain, America, Brazil and Spain – and have been defining the contours of the literary landscape since 1983. As the Observer writes: ‘In its blend of memoirs and photojournalism, and in its championing of contemporary realist fiction, Granta has its face pressed firmly against the window, determined to witness the world.’


For any questions or bookings, or to request a media pack and a copy of the latest issue, please email
Kate Rochester, or telephone the advertising department on

+44 (0) 207 605 1365
View our UK media pack
View our US media pack


Self for site

For submissions to Granta visit our online submission system.



Vahni Capildeo is the winner of the 2016 Forward Prize for Poetry for her collection Measures of Expatriation. Read her poem ‘Is Fraid I Fraid Calendars’.

Angélica Freitas’ Rilke Shake is the winner of the 2016 Best Translated Book Award for Poetry. Read her poem ‘Artichoke’.

Amitava Kumar’s ‘Pyre‘, from Granta 130: India, is selected for 2016 Best American Essays, curated by Jonathan Franzen.

Alan Rossi, ‘The Buddhist’ will be in The O. Henry Prize Stories 2017

John Connell ‘The Birds of June’ shortlisted for the Writing.ie Short Story of The Year 2016


Han Kang’s The Vegetarian has won the 2016 Man Booker International prize. Read the story that inspired it, ‘Fruit of My Woman’.

Jenny Erpenbeck’s The End of Days has been shortlisted for the 2016 Dublin Literary Award.

Jenny Offill’s Dept. of Speculation has also been shortlisted for the 2016 Dublin Literary Award.

International Editions

Granta has editions in twelve languages across three continents. For copies of international editions, you can visit the following links:

Contact us

For orders and subscription queries, call 0500 004 033, 0208 955 7011,  or email subs@granta.com

For subscriptions in North and South America, call 866-438-6150 toll-free in the US, 845-267-3031 outside the US or email

For frequently asked questions about the Granta app, please click here.

For editorial matters and permission enquiries: editorial@granta.com

For publicity and press enquiries: publicity@granta.com

For internships, please send your CV and a covering letter to internships@granta.com

For Granta Books, please visit Granta Books (www.grantabooks.com)

For everything else: info@granta.com


Publisher and Editor

Sigrid Rausing

Deputy Editor

Rosalind Porter

Online Editor

Luke Neima

Poetry Editor

Rachael Allen

Assistant Editor

Francisco Vilhena


Daniela Silva

Editorial Assistants

Eleanor Chandler, Josie Mitchell

Marketing and Subscriptions

David Robinson


Pru Rowlandson


Kate Rochester


Morgan Graver


Iain Chapple, Katie Hayward

IT Manager

Mark Williams

Website Design


Production Associate

Sarah Wasley


David Atkinson, Amber Dowell, Katherine Fry, Jessica Kelly, Vimbai Shire

Contributing Editors

Daniel Alarcón, Anne Carson, Mohsin Hamid, Isabel Hilton, Michael Hofmann, A.M. Homes, Janet Malcolm, Adam Nicolson, Edmund White


Lauren Atherton, Lucy Binnersley, Dan Bradley, Maya Caspari, Ellen Davies, Erica Eisen, Paula Flanagan, Sally Foreman, Nina Franklin, James Gilbert, Macarena Herrera, Richard Irvine, Jennifer Isherwood, Zoe Kingsley, Siobhan McBride, Alvin Pang, Daisy Parente, Hannah Philips, M.E. Rolle, Imogen West-Knights