Reading Chekhov | Granta

  • Published: 07/06/2012
  • ISBN: 9781847085368
  • 129x20mm
  • 224 pages

Reading Chekhov

Janet Malcolm

In Reading Chekhov Janet Malcolm takes on three roles: literary critic, biographer and journalist. Her close readings of Chekhov’s stories and plays are interwoven with episodes from his life and framed by an account of a recent journey she made to St Petersburg. Malcolm demonstrates how the shadow of death that hovered over most of Chekhov’s literary career – he became consumptive in his twenties and died in his forties – is almost everywhere reflected in the work. She writes of his childhood, his relationship with his family, his marriage, his travels, his early success, his exile to Yalta – always with an eye to connecting them to his themes and characters.

She is like no other critic I have ever read: limpid, revelatory and startlingly attentive to every nuance

Financial Times

Malcolm writes wonderfully well. Her character sketches are superb. Malcolm's own talents are such that even on an off day she can't write a boring sentence

John Lancaster, Daily Telegraph

Affectionate and insightful... Her writing is exuberant... Malcolm can be captivating whatever her subject

Simon Hammond, Observer

The Author

Janet Malcolm‘s books include Reading Chekhov, In the Freud Archives, The Silent Woman: Sylvia Plath and Ted Hughes and Psychoanalysis: The Impossible Profession. Born in Prague, she grew up in New York, where she now lives.

More about the author →

From the Same Author

Janet Malcolm on

Art & Photography | Granta 126

The Emily Dickinson Series

Janet Malcolm

The Emily Dickinson Series is a collection of collages by Janet Malcolm that appear in Granta 126: do you remember.