Granta | The Magazine of New Writing


granta books

From Nobel laureates to debut novelists, international translations to investigative journalism, each themed issue of Granta turns the attention of the world’s best writers on to one aspect of the way we live now. Granta does not have a political or literary manifesto, but it does have a belief in the power and urgency of the story and its supreme ability to describe, illuminate and make real.

Granta magazine was founded in 1889 by students at Cambridge University as The Granta, a periodical of student politics, badinage and literary enterprise, named after the river that runs through the town. In this original incarnation it published the work of writers like A.A. Milne, Michael Frayn, Stevie Smith, Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath.

In 1979, Bill Buford transformed Granta from a student publication to the literary quarterly it remains today. Granta Books came ten years later, quickly becoming one of the most independent-minded and prestigious literary publishers in the UK.

Granta’s Best of Young issues, released decade by decade, introduce the most important voices of each generation – in Britain, America, Brazil and Spain – and have been defining the contours of the literary landscape since 1983. As the Observer writes: ‘In its blend of memoirs and photojournalism, and in its championing of contemporary realist fiction, Granta has its face pressed firmly against the window, determined to witness the world.’


For any questions or bookings, or to request a media pack and a copy of the latest issue, please email
Charlotte Burgess, or telephone the advertising department on:

+44 207 300 5675
View our UK media pack
View our US media pack


Self for site

For submissions to Granta visit our online submission system.


Check back here for information about future events.



‘The Republic of Motherhood’ by Liz Berry is the winner of the 2018 Forward Prize for Best Single Poem.

Danez Smith’s Don’t Call Us Dead is the winner of the 2018 Forward Prize for Best Collection. Read a crown of sonnets from the collection here.

‘Africa’s Future Has No Space For Stupid Black Men’ by Pwaangulongii Daoud is the winner of the 2018 Gerald Kraak Award.

‘Travels in Pornland’ by Andrea Stuart selected for Best American Essays 2017.

Ivan Chistyakov’s ‘The Diary of a Gulag Prison Guard’ extract and ‘Peace Shall Destroy Many’ by Miriam Toews selected for Best American Nonrequired Reading 2017.

Eric Puchner’s ‘Last Day on Earth’ and Emma Cline’s ‘Arcadia’ selected for Best American Short Stories 2017.

‘The Invitation’ by Barry Lopez and ‘Dr J’ by Kalpana Narayanan selected for The Pushcart Prize 2017.


Yoko Tawada’s Memoirs of a Polar Bear has won the Warwick Women in Translation Prize.

Masha Gessen has won a National Book Award for The Future is History.

Han Kang’s The Vegetarian has won the 2016 Man Booker International prize. Read the story that inspired it, ‘Fruit of My Woman’.

Jenny Erpenbeck’s The End of Days has been shortlisted for the 2016 Dublin Literary Award.

Jenny Offill’s Dept. of Speculation has also been shortlisted for the 2016 Dublin Literary Award.

International Editions

Granta has editions in twelve languages across three continents. For copies of international editions, you can visit the following links:

Contact us

For orders and subscription queries, call 0208 955 7011,  or email

For subscriptions in North and South America, call 866-438-6150 toll-free in the US, 845-267-3031 outside the US or email

For frequently asked questions about the Granta app, please click here.

For editorial matters and permission enquiries:

For publicity and press enquiries:

For internships, please send your CV and a covering letter to

For Granta Books, please visit Granta Books (

For everything else:


Publisher and Editor

Sigrid Rausing

Deputy Editor

Rosalind Porter

Digital Director and Online Editor

Luke Neima

Poetry Editor

Rachael Allen

Assistant Editor

Francisco Vilhena

Senior Designer

Daniela Silva

Editorial Assistants

Eleanor Chandler, Josie Mitchell

Marketing and Subscriptions

David Robinson


Pru Rowlandson


Charlotte Burgess


Morgan Graver


Iain Chapple, Katie Hayward

IT Manager

Mark Williams

Website Design

Production Associate

Sarah Wasley


David Atkinson, Amber Dowell, Katherine Fry, Jessica Kelly, Vimbai Shire

Contributing Editors

Daniel Alarcón, Anne Carson, Mohsin Hamid, Isabel Hilton, Michael Hofmann, A.M. Homes, Janet Malcolm, Adam Nicolson, Edmund White


Dan Bradley, Elsa Court, Grace Cuddihy, Ellen Davies, Erica Eisen, Paula Flanagan, James Gilbert, William Irven, Richard Irvine, Jennifer Isherwood, Sigrid Koerner, Daniel South, Rory Williams