James Buchan | Granta Magazine

James Buchan

James Buchan is the author of seven novels, including A Parish of Rich Women which won The Whitbread Book of the Year Award and the Betty Trask Award in 1984. He is also the author of three works of non-fiction, including Adam Smith and the Pursuit of Liberty (2006). His most recent novel is The Gate of Air (2008)