Commonwealth Short Story Prize Winners


The Commonwealth Short Story Prize has announced the five regional winners from Africa, Asia, Canada & Europe, Caribbean, and the Pacific regions. In partnership with Commonwealth Writers, Granta will publish each of the winning stories online during the week of 4 June. This selection introduces some of the most exciting emerging talents in the world, writers who bring a thrilling and essential glimpse of the world and the worlds that are within Britain. The stories will be published in order of their region, from east to west.

4 June: Regional Winner, Pacific
Emma Martin, New Zealand,
Two Girls in a Boat

5 June: Regional Winner, Asia
Anushka Jasraj, India,
Radio Story

6 June: Regional Winner, Africa
Jekwu Anyaegbuna, Nigeria,
Morrison Okoli (1955-2010

7 June: Regional Winner, Canada and Europe
Andrea Mullaney, UK,
The Ghost Marriage

8 June: Regional Winner, Caribbean
Diana McCaulay, Jamaica,
The Dolphin Catcher

The overall winner will be announced on 8 June at Hay Festival.

You can also visit Commonwealth Writers,



Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: '2')